25

This first sentence in the polymorph spell description says (emphasis mine):

This spell transforms a creature with at least 1 hit point that you can see within range into a new form.

I have heard that polymorph only turns into a "beast", but one of my players pointed out the "new form" part, claiming that a level 7 wizard could turn a level 6 paladin into a young white dragon (challenge rating 6).

This doesn't sound right to me, because I think it's only beasts... Maybe it's a druid thing?

Does "new form" in the polymorph spell description mean "any creature or monster"? Or does it just mean "any beast"?

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
Youjay
  • 5,610
  • 7
  • 42
  • 76

2 Answers2

40

Polymorph (4th level) is limited in what it can turn things into.

From the spell text (second paragraph):

The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or the target’s level, if it doesn’t have a challenge rating).

A beast is a particular creature type. The creature type is listed in the stat block of a creature. Compare adult red dragon (dragon) with allosaurus(beast).

Beasts are nonhumanoid creatures that are a natural part of the fantasy ecology. Some of them have magical powers, but most are unintelligent and lack any society or language. Beasts include all varieties of ordinary animals, dinosaurs, and giant versions of animals. (Basic Rules, p. 110).

Other types include fiend, fey, dragon, aberration, celestial, construct, monstrosity, ooze, and humanoid. Unless the creature form chosen is a beast (allosaurus, brown bear, etc) the 4th level polymorph spell won't turn the PC into a dragon. As far as the game is concerned, a dragon is not a beast; a dragon is its own type of creature.

Dragons are large reptilian creatures of ancient origin and tremendous power. True dragons, including the good metallic dragons and the evil chromatic dragons, are highly intelligent and have innate magic. Also in this category are creatures distantly related to true dragons, but less powerful, less intelligent, and less magical, such as wyverns and pseudodragons. (Basic Rules, p. 110).

The 9th level spell, True Polymorph, has no such restriction.

Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s (or its level, if the target doesn’t have a challenge rating).

Your friend may be confusing the two spells, or may not see the distinction between the two creature types. On a humorous note, @NathanS suggests that the most powerful choices for polymorph (4th level) are Godzilla (T-Rex, CR 8, beast) or King Kong (Giant Ape, CR 7, beast). How does the character, or the player, feel about being polymorphed into one of those magnificent beasts? The PC would need to be level 8 or 7 (respectively) for that to work.


Over four years later ... as we have adventured more in Tier 2 and 3 games, it's not uncommon for our wizard to turn my level 7+ PC into a Giant Ape. Good speed, not great AC, lots of HP, throwing rocks is a nice attack, or get in close and two hard hitting punch attacks (non magical) ... or the grapple. Fun change of pace to be King Kong for a little while. The reason I prefer that to the T-Rex is that the Giant Ape's INT score is 7. Easier to role play/rationalize than a 2 INT giant lizard who is usually hungry ...

KorvinStarmast
  • 143,146
  • 34
  • 471
  • 760
  • "chosen beast" does that make it a beast then? or still anything? – Youjay Feb 13 '18 at 14:14
  • so a wizard turns a paladin into a dragon with 4th level polymorph, even if the dragon is of the same challenge rating, wouldn't work, correct? – Youjay Feb 13 '18 at 14:16
  • 8
    @Youjay No, he doesn't, since a dragon is not a beast type, it is a dragon type. – KorvinStarmast Feb 13 '18 at 14:17
  • @Youjay He can turn the paladin into a dinosaur. Just saying... – Comic Sans Seraphim Feb 13 '18 at 23:49
  • 2
    @Youjay Page 6 of Monster Manual defines "beasts" and discusses how these creature types are relevant to spells, notably: "Certain spells…interact in special ways with creatures of a particular type." So when you see "beast" in a spell definition, it's referring to the term defined on page 6. – Tim Grant Feb 14 '18 at 01:07
  • 2
    I DM'd a party whose favorite strategy for killing dragons was to polymorph the raging barbarian into King Kong, grapple the dragon (+9 Athletics vs about +5 STR) and hold it in a Wall of Fire – Dale M Feb 14 '18 at 01:24
  • @DaleM Good times. While not a rule, it seems that the more common rules interpretation is that the barbarian's rage would not be in effect while polymorphed. If you, as DM, did permit it, though, the grapple should have been +9 Athletics with advantage. – Kirt Jan 16 '23 at 16:09
27

Polymorph can't turn creatures into dragons, only beasts

The polymorph spell's description says "new form" at first, but then later specifies that the new form must be a beast (emphasis mine):

This spell transforms a creature with at least 1 hit point that you can see within range into a new form. [...] The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target's (or the target's level, if it doesn't have a challenge rating).

When the game says "beast", it is talking about a specifically defined game term. Every creature in D&D 5e has a type, and beast is one of those types. You can find a creature's type at the top of its statblock, just under the creature name, listed after its size (e.g. "Medium beast").

If the statblock for a creature says "beast" as its type, then it is applicable for the polymorph spell to turn a creature into that form. Anything else (dragon, fiend, aberration, fey, etc.) is not allowed.

A dragon is not a beast

If you look at an adult red dragon's statblock, it says: "dragon". Since it does not say "beast", it is not an applicable form for polymorph.

If you look at the statblock of a cat or a black bear it says "beast", so it would be allowed.

Common points of confusion

Don't confuse the spell polymorph with the spell true polymorph, because true polymorph has no such creature type restrictions on its transformation. It is also a 9th-level spell, so your wizard will not be casting it any time soon.

Druids have an ability somewhat similar to polymorph called Wild Shape. However, like polymorph, it can only be used to transform into beasts. There are other differences between the spell and the druid feature as well, but those are unimportant for this question as long as you understand they are separate things.

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
Rubiksmoose
  • 94,696
  • 21
  • 483
  • 580