7

Say, for example, I'm a drow or a tiefling. I have the darkness spell once a day. However, I'm a warlock with Devil's Sight and I want as many chances to cast darkness as possible. Can I take darkness as a warlock spell as well, or can I only take it once as a racial spell?

Because I can't use slots to cast the racial spell (If you have the ability to cast a spell without a spell slot can you cast that spell using a spell slot?), I can't do that for extra uses. So could I, in that example, take darkness again or am I stuck with only the racial ability?

user17995
  • 5,172
  • 6
  • 36
  • 48
Mei
  • 79
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2

2 Answers2

15

Yes, as indicated in the question you linked, spellcasting via different means are basically treated separately for rules purposes, except where otherwise noted. So a drow warlock 3 can cast darkness once per day as a racial ability, and separately, can cast darkness up to twice between short rests using their Pact Magic slots, if it's one of their spells known.

SirTechSpec
  • 16,317
  • 10
  • 61
  • 117
  • 1
    Although this is a good answer, it would be better with rules references or quotes. – keithcurtis Aug 29 '17 at 04:48
  • 1
    @keithcurtis I don't disagree, but I couldn't think of any exact citations; it's more the absence of any rules that would prevent OP from doing what they're trying to do. Open to suggestions. – SirTechSpec Aug 29 '17 at 12:36
  • 1
    One note that may be worth mentioning, the ability score that affects the spell is dependent on the source of the spell. So if you are a teifling wizard, and you get the darkness spell from both sources, casting as the racial ability uses your charisma, but casting as a wizard uses your intelligence. (not that it effects darkness, but it could on other spells) – Michael Gorman Aug 29 '17 at 17:42
3

Your race and class abilities are independent of one another

Take the darkness spell.

Dale M
  • 210,673
  • 42
  • 528
  • 889