The Ring of Spell Storing is a unique item in that it allows one spell to be cast two times. The first time is when the spell is cast into the ring:
Ring of Spell Storing, DMG 192
This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. [...] Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast.
The second time, when the spell is cast from the ring:
Ring of Spell Storing, DMG 192
[...] While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. [...]
Metamagic works on a per-cast basis:
Metamagic, PHB 101
You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless otherwise noted.
Furthermore, it's possible for two Sorcerers to share one RoSS. The first one can cast, for example, one Heightened and Empowered fireball into the ring, and then give it to the second. The second would then be able to cast the previously-Metamagicked fireball from the ring, but also apply Careful Spell on top of another Empowered Spell.
This seems to make it possible, albeit with some difficulty/resources/planning, to cast one spell with four applications of Metamagic. Is this possible, or am I missing a rule that forbids this?