1

The Universal Monster Rule Gaze indicates:

A creature with a gaze attack can actively gaze as an attack action by choosing a target within range.

Being an 'attack action' (not a Standard Action), can this be used with a creature's Natural Attacks as part of a Full Attack?

Ifusaso
  • 43,120
  • 5
  • 85
  • 186

1 Answers1

3

No, the attack action and an attack are different things.

From the combat rules:

Attack Action: An attack action is a type of standard action. Some combat options can modify only this specific sort of action.

This means that directing the Gaze ability is a standard action. And that such creature could effectively attempt to affect a target with their gaze twice in a single round, as illustrated on this answer from 3.5 regarding gaze attacks.

ShadowKras
  • 61,477
  • 4
  • 97
  • 166