Note: This answer challenges the question's frame, reading the spell in a nonstandard way.
The globe of tranquil water spell's effect creates no water except that which comprises effect's exterior
Unless there's already water around the caster when the caster casts the spell globe of tranquil water, there's no water inside the effect created by the spell globe of tranquil water. Bear with me! Here's the spell's description:
Upon casting this spell, a rippling bubble of calm water extends outward from you to a radius of 20 feet and remains centered on you when you move. The bubble blocks all natural and magical precipitation such as rain, snow, and hail (including spells such as ice storm). This bubble also pushes out any fog or mist within the area, though it does not affect temperature and can’t block natural or magical lightning.
(Emphasis mine.) The problem with this description is that the emphasized sentence makes the reader—and that included me!—think that the bubble's area should be filled with water. (Seriously, I, too, imagined the spell's effect as if the caster were some kind of aquatic hamster in a water-filled hamster ball.)1 But that first line describes visually what happens when the spell's cast: That bubble that's made of water starts around the caster and moves outward from the caster then surrounds the caster at a distance of 20 ft. However, nothing in the spell's description says that the bubble's interior is filled with water!
Thus, when the spell's cast, what's closer to a shell made of tranquil water billows forth from the caster, pushing away fog or mist, and stops. The area between caster and bubble is otherwise unaffected. (The GM could, I guess, rule that the expanding bubble leaves the area damp.) The remainder of the spell assumes this bubble's in place: it stops precipitation (but temperature and lightning still get through), and the formation of the barrier pushes fog and mist out of the area and the barrier keeps out that fog or mist while the caster travels. (This fog-and-mist-pushing effect of what's otherwise a barrier—the spell's of the abjuration school—is kind of important as it makes the spell a great defense against spells like cloudkill and solid fog, which would otherwise see their effects trapped inside the barrier with the caster were the spell a normal area spell!)
Then the description continues with this:
All water in this radius counts as calm water for the purposes of Swim checks, and the bubble prevents sprays and blasts of mundane and magic water from striking with enough force to deal damage, move creatures or halt their movement, or perform any action that requires an attack roll or combat maneuver check.
Thus, while the globe effect remains, the caster and his buddies can be on land and struck by a tidal wave, yet the globe effect means all that water that would normally shove them around or deal them damage is, instead, rendered harmless. (The caster and his buddies will still get wet, though—a tidal wave is not precipitation!). Similarly, the caster can leap off a boat into the sea during a raging thunderstorm, and the globe effect means the water that now surrounds him is calm and easily traversed.
Reading the spell globe of tranquil water this way—as a barrier that turns any water that gets within into tranquil rather than as a sphere that's filled with tranquil water—makes the spell into a reasonable niche spell, usable as a defense against casters fond of battlefield control spells, instead of a spell that's capable of, for example, transporting an army through the air so long as the caster's arms don't tire or drowning a structure's occupants by having some unseen servants open the doors.
Hence a caster that wants a spell that allows an aquatic creature to function on land should look to the spell air breathing. A caster that wants to drown his foes should look to the spell aqueous orb. A caster that needs a lot of water should look to the spell wall of brine (and get the GM's permission). And a caster that wants to surround himself with weaponized water—and that's a serious trick in Pathfinder as being submerged in water provides total cover from attacks launched from land—should look to the spell seamantle. But if a caster doesn't want to worry about his foes' solid fog and obscuring mist spells—or about the rain soaking his scrolls or death by mundane tsunami—, the spell globe of tranquil water has him covered.
1 Users of sufficient reputation can view my deleted answer.