8

Since I have levels in Bard, can I copy (for example) mass cure wounds (a level 5 bard spell that isn't also a wizard spell) from a bard scroll into my spell book?

Could I do this idea with 3 levels in Cleric instead of in Bard?

SevenSidedDie
  • 243,609
  • 44
  • 785
  • 1,025
Josh Slee
  • 91
  • 2

3 Answers3

27

No; you can only copy wizard spells into your spellbook

The "Your Spellbook" sidebar states the following about copying spells into your spellbook (emphasis mine):

When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.

This passage disallows copying spells outside those available to a wizard into the spellbook, regardless of what other classes you've taken levels in.

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
Conduit
  • 5,455
  • 1
  • 29
  • 50
1

No. The wizard spell book is an item made to contain only wizard spells, and due to the fact that mass cure wounds is not, indeed, a wizard spell, it couldn't reasonably be copied into a wizard spellbook. The same could be said for any other non-wizard spell.

  • 6
    Hi Mark, and welcome to RPG.SE. Check out the [tour] to see how we work here. This answer would benefit from citations so that we can take what it's asserting in confidence. – doppelgreener Jun 17 '17 at 18:05
-4

Actually you could copy mass cure wounds because as a wizard / bard all the spells YOU know become both wizard and bard spells to YOU.

  • 3
    Can you back up this claim with a reference to the rules? Otherwise it's going to be downvoted. – Erik Dec 14 '20 at 06:43
  • 2
    Especially since a level 14 Wizard / level 3 Bard cannot know mass cure wounds since they don't have the Bard level for it. – Erik Dec 14 '20 at 06:44
  • 1
    Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the [tour] if you haven't already, and check out the [help] for more guidance. All answers must be supported by evidence/experience; please edit your answer to support it by citing the relevant rules/evidence. – V2Blast Dec 14 '20 at 10:11
  • 1
    (...Though that may be hard to do, since I'm pretty sure the rules don't say anything of the sort. In fact, the multiclass spellcasting rules say exactly the opposite: "You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. [...] Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell.") – V2Blast Dec 14 '20 at 10:11