The Dash action gives you extra movement for the current turn (equal to your speed). If I have an effect (like the Expeditious Retreat spell or the monk's Step of the Wind feature) which allows me to dash as a bonus action, can I also dash as my regular action, for triple movement?
Asked
Active
Viewed 5.8k times
36
-
Not asked, but you by the answer given you could even quintuple move with action surge and haste action. – findusl Jul 24 '19 at 21:50
1 Answers
39
If you can dash as a bonus action you can move, dash, and then dash again, moving thrice your speed in a round.
There is no stipulation on Dash that you can't use it as an action (if you have the ability to do so) if you've taken it as your bonus action (like there is with casting a spell as a bonus action).
wax eagle
- 104,128
- 19
- 375
- 461
-
5@MonkeezOnFire That link is dead, but here is tweet from Jeremy Crawford to the same effect: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/564971297831010304 – Apr 15 '19 at 19:18
-
And JC tweets are official ruling anymore, but the answer is the same. – J. A. Streich Jul 24 '19 at 20:11
-
@J.A.Streich Did you miss a negative in that comment? JC's tweets are no longer official rulings. – Someone_Evil Jul 24 '19 at 20:17
-
1Lol. I know I typed not or aren't..... But yes, I missed a negative. JC's tweets aren't official anymore. It has been a pain in my butt for a while as mods keep finding my old answers. – J. A. Streich Jul 24 '19 at 20:20