4

Inspired by this question here: Can you use Wild Shape to meld a Bag of Holding into your Wild Shape form while creatures are inside the Bag of Holding?

Portable holes state that you can use a strength check to escape it and appear within 5 feet of the holder, so if you have a creature in a portable hole, and then wild shape into some form, does that creature still have the ability to escape the hole using a strength check?

Does a Bag of holding follow the same, either trapping a target or allowing escape?

Does that mean a party could trick a big bad into the hole via a looney-toons style pitfall trap, pick it up, Wild shape, and then just wait for them to suffocate? That sounds ridiculous, and hilarious.

Exempt-Medic
  • 75,986
  • 11
  • 289
  • 534

1 Answers1

1

They probably don't suffocate, but it is unclear if they can escape.

It is up to the DM to determine if and how a creature inside could escape. But they probably don't suffocate...

Equipment that merges with the form has no effect until you leave the form.

This is the last sentence of the Wild Shape description:

Equipment that merges with the form has no effect until you leave the form.

So the suffocation effect would pause while the bag or hole are merged with the druid. Alternatively, a DM might rule that this suffocation isn't actually an effect of the bag, rather a consequence of the environment.

Thomas Markov
  • 148,772
  • 29
  • 842
  • 1,137