1

My Dragonborn Barbarian has animal handling as part of his skillset, which he used to tame a wolf collected from a goblin camp. Now this wolf has proven to be the unsung MVP of our recent encounters lately, even netting a crit kill on a miniboss.

The standard house rules for our group define rolling a 20 on a skill check a crit-skill success, guaranteeing success. Even receiving some minor hyperbole as a bonus. Although in this instance, it's the first time a skill success was used to improve the stats of a another being, so that's where the confusion begins.

When my character goes to try and domesticate him with an animal handling check at level 4, he gets a Nat 20. What happens in that instance? Do the wolf's stats get a bonus or is there no difference?

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304

1 Answers1

12

In Dungeons and Dragons 5th edition (and every other version of D&D) there is no special meaning to a natural 20 on a skill check by the rules.

It is not an automatic success and it does not provide any special benefits to the character.

Many DMs will implement house rules, formally or informally, that give a natural 20 some special benefit, but those are house rules and will vary from table to table. In this case, the DM could choose to give the wolf some special bonus in recognition of its impressive rolls, but that would be entirely up to them.

NotArch
  • 125,044
  • 39
  • 506
  • 804
Kyle Doyle
  • 2,490
  • 1
  • 12
  • 16
  • 3
    It may help to show where rolling crits do have rules and that it doesn't have that for ability checks. – NotArch May 17 '19 at 18:36